Hey Owen, my understanding was that if you delete a contact record it DOES dump their details; with the exception of email history.
I’ve found that email history is tied to the email address, not to the contact record. So when you add an email that the system recognizes (either from another contact, or from a deleted contact in the past) it automatically displays past email history from that address on the new contact record.
Are you saying that when you delete a contact, and then readd using the same address - it’s bringing ALL contact info back as well, including tags, custom field data, order history, notes, etc? To me that does not sound like its behaving as expected.
I’d suspect that a) the contact isn’t being deleted entirely in the first place, or b) it could be a bug.
What does support say?